Citizen Action Commends Rock County for Supporting BadgerCare

Following Assembly’s rejection of enhanced federal Medicaid funds for BadgerCare, Rock County becomes 19th county to speak out on this injustice.

Following the introduction of legislation by Assembly Representative Melissa Sargent to ensure counties have a say in the issue of Medicaid, the Rock County Board last Thursday became the 19th county to vote to call on the state to take action. Citizen Action commends them for their stance on Medicaid.

The Rock County board’s resolution, like many before it, called on the state to accept the enhanced federal Medicaid funds for BadgerCare. Or, as an alternative, to allow Wisconsin counties the option to accept the federal Medicaid funds if they so choose. Numerous Wisconsin counties have asked the Walker administration for this ability, with State Representative Melissa Sargent introducing legislation recently to do just that.

Rock County is the 19th county to vote in favor of the state accepting these funds, and the first to propose a local opportunity to accept the funding since the introduction of Representative Sargent’s bill. This issue is all the more pressing while the State Senate discusses this week whether to force 77,000 off of BadgerCare on March 31st and prevent 80,000 additional citizens below the poverty line from enrolling in BadgerCare until April 1st.

“We commend the Rock County Board for this continued call to Governor Walker and the Legislature to not leave hundreds of millions of dollars of enhanced federal Medicaid dollars on the table ,” said Robert Kraig, Executive Director of Citizen Action of Wisconsin.  “If conservatives in Madison can’t bring themselves the do the right thing and take advantage of federal dollars that would extend health security to tens of thousands low income Wisconsinites, counties have shown a willingness to fill the breach.”

Wisconsin can accept these federal Medicaid funds for BadgerCare at any time, guaranteeing all Wisconsinites permanent access to affordable care. If the state will not act on this responsibility, than counties must be given the means to protect their constituents.

County governments who have taken action in the last year: Rock, Dane, Milwaukee, Jefferson, Iowa, Richland, Winnebago, Manitowoc, Outagamie, Door, Lincoln, Oneida, Marathon, Portage, Wood, Clark, Eau Claire, Dunn and La Crosse.

Be the first to comment

Please check your e-mail for a link to activate your account.